Projectdetail

Sustainable, High-Performance Building Solutions in Wood (HiBiWood)

Project Duration: 1 Sept. 2020 to 31 Aug. 2023

Eight percent of all global CO2 emissions result from the production of conventional construction materials such as steel and concrete, representing an immense contribution to climate change and global warming. To meet the EU climate goals of a 50% reduction in greenhouse gas emissions by 2030 and climate neutrality by 2050, it is essential that we rethink resource consumption in the construction industry.

The ERASMUS+ project Sustainable, High-Performance Building Solutions in Wood (HiBiWood) of the Department Building and Design has a contribution to make here. Cooperation between six universities of applied science in five countries ensures an international exchange of knowledge on the topic of sustainable building processes and strategies while enhancing the expertise of all project participants (students, instructors and employees of construction companies).

The project will span three years and include four intensive trainings for instructors and students, seven meetings of the project partners and one conference. A transdisciplinary elective module worth 9 ECTS will also be created and embedded in the study programs of the partner universities. The objective of the module is to enable knowledge transfer about sustainable building and multistory timber construction among all participants according to the PBL method (problem-based learning). The students will collaborate in small groups to plan a multistory building with a timber or timber hybrid construction style, working through all real project phases (from preliminary design to detailed planning) and implementing sustainable principles.

The learning process will be enhanced by visits to local construction companies and an e-learning platform.

Project Objectives 

  • Educating and training all participants (students, instructors, companies) in the area of sustainable building and multistory timber construction.
  • Developing and implementing a transdisciplinary elective module for the architecture programs of the partner universities that lives up to the future requirements of the construction industry with regard to sustainable construction.
  • Developing guidelines/principles to simplify the practical implementation of sustainable construction projects (new builds or renovation, with a focus on timber construction).
  • Improving the skills of students and instructors in the areas of problem solving and teamwork, innovative thinking, motivation and awareness of sustainable building through a project-based and transdisciplinary learning approach.
  • Sensitizing and raising awareness among various actors at the local, national, EU and international levels concerning sustainable building processes and principles.

Funded by

 

ERASMUS+ Strategic Partnerships for higher education

Disclaimer:
The European Commission support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents which reflects the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.

Co-operation Partners

  • FH Campus Wien (AT) 
  • Riga Building College (LVA) - Lead
  • Cracow University of Technology (POL)
  • Klaipeda State University of Applied Sciences (LTU)
  • Study and Consulting Center (LTU)
  • Häme University of Applied Sciences (FIN)

Project Manager FH Campus Wien

Project Team FH Campus Wien


Degree program

Architecture - Green Building

Bachelor, full-time

more

Architecture - Green Building

Master, full-time

more

Projektdetail

Sustainable, High-Performance Building Solutions in Wood (HiBiWood)

Projektlaufzeit: 1.9.2020 bis 31.8.2023

8% aller weltweiten CO2-Emissionen wird für die Herstellung von konventionellen Baumaterialien wie Stahl und Beton aufgebracht, welche dadurch einen immensen Beitrag zum Klimawandel und der globalen Erderwärmung beitragen. Um die EU-Klimaziele zur Reduktion der Treibhausgasemissionen um 50% bis 2030 und die Klimaneutralität bis 2050 einzuhalten ist ein Umdenken hinsichtlich Ressourcenverbrauch in der Bauwirtschaft unumgänglich.

Einen Beitrag dafür leistet das ERASMUS + Projekt Sustainable, High-Performance Building Solutions in Wood (HiBiWood) des Departments Bauen und Gestalten. Durch die Kooperation von sechs Fachhochschulen aus fünf Ländern wird der internationale Wissensaustausch in Bezug auf nachhaltige Bauprozesse und Strategien gewährleistet und die Kompetenzen aller Projektteilnehmer*innen (Studierende, Lehrende und Mirarbeiter*innen von Bauunternehmen) gesteigert.

Das Projekt wird innerhalb von drei Jahren durchgeführt, wobei vier intensive Trainings für Lehrende und Studierende, sieben Treffen der Projektpartner*innen und eine Konferenz geplant sind. Im Rahmen des Projekts wird ein transdisziplinäres Wahlmodul mit 9 ECTS entstehen, welches in den Studienprogrammen der Partneruniversitäten eingebettet wird. Das Modul hat das Ziel, den Wissensaustausch über nachhaltiges Bauen und mehrgeschoßigen Holzbau unter allen Teilnehmer*innen anhand der PBL-Methode (Problem-Based Learning) zu ermöglichen. Dabei werden die Studierenden ein mehrgeschossiges Gebäude in Holz- bzw. Holzhybrid-Bauweise in Kleingruppen planen, wobei alle reale Projektphasen (vom Vorentwurf bis zur Detailplanung) durchzuführen und dabei nachhaltige Prinzipien zu implementieren sind.

Der Lernprozess wird durch Besuche in lokalen Bauunternehmen und durch eine E-Learning Plattform unterstützt.

Forschungsziele

  • Aus- und Weiterbildung aller Teilnehmer*innen (Studierende, Lehrende, Unternehmen) im Bereich des nachhaltigen Bauens und des mehrgeschoßigen Holzbaus.
  • Entwicklung und Implementierung eines transdisziplinären Wahlmoduls im Rahmen der Architekturstudiengänge der Partneruniversitäten, das den Zukunftsanforderungen der Baubranche in Bezug auf nachhaltiges Bauen entspricht.
  • Entwicklung von Richtlinien/Prinzipien, die die praktische Umsetzung von nachhaltigen Bauprojekten (Neubau oder Sanierung, mit Fokus auf Holzbau) erleichtern.
  • Verbesserung der Kompetenzen der Studierende und Lehrende in Bezug auf Problemlösung und Teamarbeit, innovatives Denken, Motivation und Bewusstsein für nachhaltiges Bauen anhand eines projektbasierten und berufsübergreifenden Lernansatzes.
  • Sensibilisierung und Bewusstseinsschaffung unterschiedlicher Akteur*innen auf lokaler, nationaler, EU- und internationaler Ebene in Bezug auf nachhaltige Bauprozesse und Prinzipien.

Fördergeber*in

 

ERASMUS+ Strategic Partnerships for higher education

Haftungsausschluss:
Dieses Projekt wurde mit Unterstützung der Europäischen Kommission finanziert. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung trägt allein der Verfasser; die Kommission haftet nicht für die weitere Verwendung der darin enthaltenen Angaben.

 

Kooperationspartner*innen

  • FH Campus Wien, Österreich
  • Rigas Celtniecibas Koledza, Lettland (Projektkoordination)
  • Cracow University of Technology, Polen
  • Klaipedos Valstybine Kolegija, Litauen
  • Study and Consulting Center, Litauen
  • Hameen Ammattikorkeakoulu Oy, Finnland

Projektleitung FH Campus Wien

Projektteam FH Campus Wien


Studiengang

Architektur – Green Building

Bachelorstudium, Vollzeit

more

Architektur – Green Building

Masterstudium, Vollzeit

more